Moving forward?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If You Leave.”

I’ve been at my current job for almost 14 years. It’s a good job that provides for the needs of my family and I. It’s overall been a good job. The way I was raised, I never expected to live in one place 14 years, much less stay in the same job. I think the fact my boss changes every couple of years keeps it fresh and helps me to maintain my sanity. I’ve still contemplated doing something else though.

I like my job. I get to do some pretty cool things and feel like I make a difference, but it’s not my passion. It pays the bills and at the end of the day, what more could I ask for? I could ask for a job I absolutely love. One that doesn’t make me dread some days where I’d rather sit at home than go to work. I could ask for a job that challenges me more deeply and enables me to expand my influence because I can’t help but work harder. I could ask for that.

me

The thing is, change is hard. Change is scary, change is change. The older I get, the more I cling to my routine. My routine isn’t exactly routine, but it’s stable enough that I cling to it. It’s also familiar. Why is it so darn hard to reach out into the unknown? Why can’t I just make the leap I’ve seen others do? Part of it is the kids, but part of it is me. I suppose, the older I get the harder it is to do something different.

I do know this. I don’t want to look back at the end of my life and ask, what if…? Maybe I will change…and maybe I’ll change for the better. I just hope at my funeral, those who love me will say, “He didn’t play it safe. He lived life fully, loved heartily and most of all, wasn’t afraid.” Hopefully at the end of your life the same can be said of you.

Leave a Reply

