Not so much

11659441_1086756281337977_1838086930973810513_nWell,
It would seem that I’ve been slow in putting a new post up. Ok..really, really, really slow. The older I get the more I see how quickly time slips away from you. I would have hoped by now I would have learned how to manage my time better, but not so much. I get up, enjoy some silence before the kids get up and then we’re off! It doesn’t look to slow down anytime soon. I would have thought giving up cheerleading and not playing football would have allowed for other things, but not so much. I guess that’s the procrastinator’s theme “not so much”.

I have learned to appreciate people in my life. While I love my kids, I feel like I’m not doing a good job on the adult companion side. Maybe it’s because I tend to reach for those who are slightly out of reach. Maybe it’s because in the five years since my divorce, I’ve learned to enjoy being the chief bottlewasher and decision maker. Who knows? That however, is not why I’m learning to appreciate people more.

Over the last year, 3 people I’ve known have passed away, 2 after long illnesses and 1 very suddenly. The common theme for them all is that I had an impression very shortly before their death I should go by and visit. I unfortunately didn’t take the time and missed my chance. I wish I could go back and change it, but once their gone, your wishes are just that.

Not so much. It should never be an excuse for not making time for people who mean something to you. Even if it’s just a passing thing, go. Even if all you wish for is not so much, don’t let it keep you from adding a moment of relationship in a flurry of activity.

Leave a Reply

